• Zuhair
    The problem is that in many instances, like in "4+4=8", it cannot signify the same objectMetaphysician Undercover

Yes, it can! If you followed by tribe example, you'll see that you can do that! consider 4 to be the name of the set of all four member sets, now you join any member of that set with a member of it that is disjoint form it, and the result of all such unions would be 8 member sets that would be collected in a different set named as 8. It is very similar to the tribe condition. If you have the patience (which I agree is difficult) to follow the whole example I gave, you'll see the analogy. It would be solved in a very nice manner through conceiving numbers as denoting "sets", well actually sets of sets.

Of course the concept of having sets of sets is not a nice concept and not easy at all, but it can be interpreted in hierarchical labeling of collections, but that's another story.
  • Zuhair
    as I said I'm not good with symbols, so I just get lost trying to figure out what you're saying.Metaphysician Undercover

"Lost in symbols, hey!", me too really, I wonder if one can can get rid of that symbolic approach to mathematics and use instead of them understandable words within some rigorous language.
  • Metaphysician Undercover

I don't think we can talk of sets here, because set theory already premises that "4" in one set refers to the same object as "4" in another set, and this is the false premise which I am trying to expose. So to be talking of sets is to already assume what you are trying to prove (begging the question).