• Zachary Beddingfield
    Hey everyone, I'm fairly new to ethics. I was asked to give a presentation on Kantianism, and a friend was asked to give a presentation on Deontology for the same organization. It's my understanding that these two things are the saem (we are opporating on a very basic level). What differences, if any, are there between Kantianism and Deontology?
  • Echarmion
    Deontology is a principle according to which a moral philosophy can be built. Kantianism is a specific, deontological, philosophy.

But really reading the respective Wikipedia entries on the two should suffice to give an outline.
  • Zachary Beddingfield
    Thanks! For a general group (debate club), do you think there should be separate presentations on Kantianism and deontology?
  • tim wood
    What differences, if any, are there between Kantianism and Deontology?Zachary Beddingfield

Genus and species. Deontology is a part of Kantianism. Actually, Kantianism is a strange term. I suggest you never use it; it's suggestive of an -ism, and with Kant there really is not such a thing. It's as if in speaking of arithmetic, you referred to arithmeticism.

As to your presentation. You have a research problem, as well as making a number of decisions about what, exactly, you're presenting, to what end, etc.

Your requesting organization is as well part of your problem. It's their business to have a good idea about what on these your topics you know and your ability to present. Whatever you do, then, if done in good faith, must be all right.
  • Echarmion
    Thanks! For a general group (debate club), do you think there should be separate presentations on Kantianism and deontology?Zachary Beddingfield