• TheMadFool
    I'm not a scientist but Newtonian physics applies at the quantum level. If I'm correct that means particles, their position and velocity, are deterministic in behavior.

Knowledge of initial states of particles can be used to predict their properties at some other time in the future.

We're physical, our brains are physical i.e. we're all made up of particles. That implies our brains are deterministic machines if you'll allow me to use that word.

If that's the case then freewill shouldn't exist. It's existence would violate the laws of nature and it would be a true miracle. This can't be.

Your comments...
  • Sunnyside
    I'm not a physicist but I believe the "problem" (?) with quantum mechanics is that it's random. That wouldn't support free will but it doesn't sound like it supports determinism either. Randomness is a somewhat frightening prospect, possibly worse than just not having any say because of the anxiety of what might happen at any time. The odds aren't ever in our favor.
  • TheMadFool
    I'm not a physicist but I believe the "problem" (?) with quantum mechanics is that it's random. That wouldn't support free will but it doesn't sound like it supports determinism either. Randomness is a somewhat frightening prospect, possibly worse than just not having any say because of the anxiety of what might happen at any time. The odds aren't ever in our favor.Sunnyside

In quantum mechanics, concepts such as force, momentum, and position are defined by linear operators that operate on the quantum state; at speeds that are much lower than the speed of light, Newton's laws are just as exact for these operators as they are for classical objects. At speeds comparable to the speed of light, the second law holds in the original form F = dp/dt, where F and p are four-vectors. — Wikipedia

What do you think?
  • Shamshir
    Before the script is written, it's improvised.
  • TheMadFool
    Before the script is written, it's improvised.Shamshir