• T Clark
    I've been thinking about this question. I've joked that I'm a "seems to me" philosopher. Sometimes people have criticized me for that. I rarely quote well-known philosophers. When I do it's generally Emerson's "Self-reliance" and Lao Tzu's "Tao Te Ching" or sometimes maybe William James' "Pragmatism" and R.G. Collingwood's "Essay on Metaphysics." I include feelings, values, impressions, and personal experience - both internal and external - in my arguments. I'm not sure how this relates exactly, but I also am a broken record (if you remember or ever knew what that means) for the distinction between questions of metaphysics and epistemology and questions of fact.

I depend mostly on my own introspection for my positions on philosophical questions. I try to be very self-aware about my own internal experience, especially for questions of knowledge, which is very important to me. I'm not sure if that's because I'm an engineer or if I became an engineer because knowledge is so important.

I think most people probably will agree that introspection is valuable. We'll see. There's more to it than that - should we depend less on introspection than on ratiocination? Love that word. Means, more or less, rational thinking. If so, how do they compare in terms of their credibility? It should be clear where I come down.
  • removedmembershiprc
    Well, I think that like subjectivity, introspection can be considered a filter through which you experience the world, which are by definition, experienced through the lens of your life, emotions, upbringing, what you've read etc. Objectivity is arguably impossible, although the scientific method does attempt to account for our subjective biases and distortions.