• Andrew4Handel
    There are hundreds of neuroscience studies about the nature, scope, behavioral effects, and experience of consciousness. These have gotten more specific and detailed with the development of cognitive science techniques - PET scans, MRIs. Specific brain activity can be associated with specific mind activity - memory, emotion, thought, perception. This information has been used to try to understand the functional processes that go to make up consciousness. The one source I can steer you toward is "The Feeling of What Happens" by Antonio Damasio. I don't like the book much and I'm not sure if I buy his conclusions, but I found it a very plausible example of what a neuroscience description of consciousness might look like.T Clark

I did a degree in Philosophy and Psychology with a module on philosophy of mind. I had to do a lot of reading in this area including about mind-brain correlation, interpreting brain scanning results, language processing, meaning etc.

There is no explanation of how anything in the brain gives rise to or could give rise to mental phenomena without leaving a large explanatory gap.

The idea of one specific experience has problems because experiences have many different features. However say you correlated something like someones memory of their grandmother to some specific neurons their would still be a fundamental puzzle of how activation of this area produced conscious experience.

We don't have a measure of consciousness so that we can prove anyone any organism is consciousness. There is wide range of problems in the field and a massive literature. It is a very optimistic stance to take to believe the field is near an explanation of consciousness.
  • Andrew4Handel
    Morality is a matter of human value and preference. No amount of study will come up with a definitive statement.T Clark