• Jorge
    Hi everyone

I have been reading on the Philosophy of Science recently, about the scientific method, how does one explain reality through different world conceptions, i. e. science, philosophy and religion. I am reading the book Philosophy of Science for Scientists from Lars-Göran Johansson, and I discovered the ideas from Karl Popper on Falsificationism, Kuhn's Scientific Revolutions and similar. I am an engineering student who has no formal training in Philosophy, only knows the basic mainstream ideas like Existentialism, Idealism and so on. Still, I am interested more on the Philosophy of Science, I want to understand more the activity we call Science, why hypothesis like God's existence are not considered scientific. I do not feel confident to read Popper's The Logic of Scientific Discovery, but, after all, what is actually science?
  • tim wood
    "Philosophy" is not univocal term. Generally, philosophy (of) can be taken to be thinking about the thinking about a subject matter, the of implying considerations bespoke to the subject matter.

You're an engineer. If you're building a bridge, you have for that exact task little or no need for any thinking about thinking; you merely need to think about the engineering. As to a "philosophy of" bridge building, that could cover anything and everything about the bridge and building it not part of the engineering. And that could cover a lot of ground.

As to science, as (I suspect) with engineering, science is not a thing but a method, a process with waypoints. The philosophy of science is thinking about the process(es) of science and its intermediate steps and purposes. A scientist who does science by following out appropriately the steps of his science has no immediate need of a philosophy of his science. But at some point he ought to reflect on what he is doing, else lacking that reflection, he become merely a cook following a recipe.