• Rein Van Imschoot
    I am quite new to the practice of Stoicism but I am now reading "A Guide to the Good Life: The Ancient Art of Stoic Joy" and I am thoroughly enjoying it.

Something that did spark a question however, was the idea of negative visualisation.

In the book, the two main reasons for practicing negative visualisation would be:

• To make sure you prepare for the inevitable loss of whatever you are visualising
    • To make sure you appreciate what you have and not fall prey to hedonic adaptation.

But this, to me, feels like it leads to two different thought processes.

Let's say I would visualise my apartment burning down with all my possessions along with it.

On one hand, this would lead me to realise that this wouldn't be so bad, since I would still have my job, friends and family and although it would take some time, I would be able to rebuild what I have lost. Plus, a lot of people have it way worse than me.

To me, this thought process feels like it achieves the first reason why one would practice negative visualisation but it also leaves me with a sort of detachment to my apartment and all my belongings.

On the other hand, this visualisation could lead to realising what a great apartment I have and I should be lucky that I have it and appreciate it more. Again, a lot of people have it way worse than me.

This would achieve the second reason why you would practice negative visualisation.

To me, these two thought processes feel a bit contradictory as in the first, you are actively trying to lessen your attachment while in the second, you are creating more appreciation and as such, maybe also a bit more attachment?

To give another example, I could visualise that I lost my job.

On one hand, I would come to the conclusion that, again, this is not so bad since I still have my wits and skills and for someone who wants to work, there is always work to be found.