• TheGreatOne
    Hi guys! First post, been a somewhat infrequent lurker here; just want to say this is a fascinating place. If you could help me with this one bothersome question that would be great. The question/argument goes like this:

How is the "now" of our experience change? Why isn't it statically present in one spot forever? It seems to me that consciousness must be propelled forward OR time must "flow" future to present to past. Since the latter option is considered suspect due to the nature of time (block universe theory), it seems the former must be true. But you then need to present some outside explanation to consciousness moving forward. Some people say the perception of time flowing is due to the Second Law of Thermodynamics, but that only explains the viewing of such events in the past versus the viewing of events in the future, not "MY" consciousness moving through the block (Now, this assumption could very well be wrong, I am quite new to philosophy, being only 20...). I am having a hard time conceptualizing a way of resolving this problem without resorting to the ontological nature of consciousness having some non-physical qualities.

Anyways, I have tried looking for some discussion to this specific question related to the B theory, but it isn't discussed (That I know of.), leading me to believe I am misinterpreting something, somewhere.

Thanks in advance!
  • apokrisis
    Why isn't it statically present in one spot forever?TheGreatOne

Our experience of time is anticipatory. The brain works by guessing what is just about to happen (which is mostly going to be a continuation of what has just happened). And so the flow of time is experienced as the degree to which things matched strong expectation while being punctuated at distinct points by various surprises.

Thus our experience of time is inherently dynamic rather than static. If we see a falling ball, we already expect it to drop, hit the ground, bounce up.