• Shawn
    Much of psychology is or has been me centered, or the analysis of the subject with respect to the world. One goes to a doctor and some criteria are held by a doctor about what a person values and psychoanalysis ensues. In some sense or manner this all seems very ego centric and often results in a feeling of confusion about the subconscious and what it 'wants' as if in a perpetual fight with the conscious.

I've been dwelling over this idea for the past 15 years, and feel that most psychologists and psychiatrists have been lured like some angler trap into this idea that deep issues can be brought into the light and then the process of healing can occur. One never knows how long this process takes and there's always a cloud of mystery, ambiguity, and fear about one's self. People even become afraid of psychology and the chunk of atavism that we all posses.

However, I've noticed a trend happening in the field of psychology where this tendency of the analysis of the self is being replaced with the analysis of the self in respect to reality. This can be seen in CBT and some other forms of therapy, such as 'Reality Therapy'.

The purpose of reality therapy from my short read on the matter is to build a relationship with the world, not the self. Some common norms or important traits of human behavior are highlighted and focused on instead of the ambiguous self.

What are your thoughts about 'Reality therapy' in regards to the above? I post this because 'philosophy' seems in many regards hermetically sealed and detached from reality, as does the whole field of psychology; but, not reality therapy(?)
  • apokrisis
    However, I've noticed a trend happening in the field of psychology where this tendency of the analysis of the self is being replaced with the analysis of the self in respect to reality. This can be seen in CBT and some other forms of therapy, such as 'Reality Therapy'.Posty McPostface