• Shawn
    In my mind, there seems to be a deep connection between quantum theory and the conclusions arrived at by Godel.

Does anyone else share this view and where can I explore this potential link further?

I already have some books in mind, such as GEB and possibly books by Penrose; but, GEB is pretty heavy stuff and unfortunately my attention span is quite limited.

Any more books I should look into for sake of curiosity and learning more about the world?

Cheers.
  • noAxioms
    I'm no expert on Godel's theorems, but most of them seemed to apply to a straight deterministic single thread model with no quantum probability, Incompleteness holds. A system still cannot predict itself via simulation. Quantum indeterminacy does make it worse of course. Or possibly better. There are claims that quantum computers work outside the limits assumed by Godel, but such a quantum computer, if possible, still cannot predict 'the future' because there would be no unique answer to supply.
  • tom
    In my mind, there seems to be a deep connection between quantum theory and the conclusions arrived at by Godel.Question

It might be illuminating to discover what you think this deep connection might be, because on the face of it, there doesn't appear to be one.

Gödel's theorems are basically the discovery that most mathematical statements are undecidable. This is equivalent to Turing's discovery that almost all mathematical functions that exist logically cannot be computed by any program. The phrase "almost all" is justified by the fact that the set of all mathematical functions is uncountably infinite, whereas the set of all programs is countably infinite.