• WISDOMfromPO-MO
    Also, context is missing.

A statement with no context is meaningless.

Put the statement in context and then we can evaluate what it means/says.

Here's context: A person walks up to a stranger on a city street and says, "I am lying", and then walks away.
  • Dawnstorm
    But, ''this'' isn't like ''I''. If we stay true to the definition of the word then ''this'' doesn't apply to itself and it should for the liar paradox to be one.

Of course we could invent a self-referential word e.g. ''thes'' and define it as such and the paradox would appear.

If one were to be as exact as possible the definition of ''this'' doesn't include self-reference. It is grammatically incorrect (I'm not a linguistic expert).

However, people do use ''this'' as you have (''this Australian needs a bath'' :D) but note that such forms of language are classified as referring to oneself in the third person. It isn't completely an instance of self-reference. People would find it odd to hear someone refer to himself in the third person.

So, I still think the liar sentence is grammatically incorrect.

However, as I mentioned above we could invent a self-referential word like ''thes'' and the liar paradox still is a problem.
    TheMadFool

"This sentence is false," is only self-referential on the sentence level. "This" on its own refers to nothing at all; it's a determiner in the noun-phrase "This sentence", and that nounphrase is also not self-referential (It can't be because a noun-phrase can't be the referent for "this sentence").