• Martin Raza
    Gӧdel proved that FOL is complete. The arithmetical theory Q is closed under first-order logical consequence, and yet Gӧdel's theorems establish that Q is incomplete. What are the relationships between the relevant concepts involved, and why these facts are mutually compatible?
  • fdrake
    A list of statements is closed under first order logical consequence = everything that can be derived from that list's elements using first order logical consequence is in the list.

Incompleteness says that there are tautologies which can't be derived (as theorems). Closure says everything that can be derived is thrown in, incompleteness says there are semantic truths that can't be derived (using the relevant entailment).
  • fishfry
    Incompleteness says that there are tautologies which can't be derived (as theorems).fdrake

I'm no expert on this stuff but every tautology has a proof. Incompleteness involves propositions that aren't tautologies, whose truth value varies with the model. For example the axioms for a group say nothing about whether the group is Abelian. The statement "xy = yx for all x, y" is true in some models and not in others. So the group axioms are not complete.

A proposition is a tautology (true in every model), if and only if it has a proof. That's Gödel's completeness theorem.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/G%C3%B6del%27s_completeness_theorem
  • fdrake
    I'm no expert on this stuff but every tautology has a proof. Incompleteness involves propositions that aren't tautologies, whose truth value varies with the model. For example the axioms for a group say nothing about whether the group is Abelian. The statement "xy = yx for all x, y" is true in some models and not in others. So the group axioms are not complete.fishfry

Seems I was confused and wrong then.

To set the record straight, do you agree with this:

Edit: (0) Call a well formed formula of a system's language which can be true or false "a statement".