• Andrew4Handel

I haven't got an overriding motivation other than basic survival to evade pain and discomfort but coloured with an overriding sense of depression and pointlessness.

However I do try and read a lot and listen to academic podcasts, debates and YouTube lectures.

I am agnostic about meaning. I did a degree which involved philosophy of mind and analysis of physicalism and social discourse etc which has left me with unanswered questions that leave me uncertain.

Not knowing is a peculiar kind of situation. For example if you are contemplating suicide and you don't know what it will be like. Will you survive the death of your body. If you knew exactly what the nature of your death was like than you could act in light of that. I don't have strong enough desires or adequate knowledge to reach motivational conclusions. (I have lots of thoughts swirling around my mind)

I grew up in a Fanatically religious background and spent thousands of hrs in church (it seemed like) a lot of emphasis was placed on the afterlife. The idea was that life got its meaning from the promise of the afterlife and meeting God. There was also the threat of hell spelled out every week..

In a sense I see Christianity as nihilistic because it degrades the point this life. However that background made me philosophical for an early age and when I left it I had to question the meaning of everything and try and find another meaning. For instance I went from hundreds of moral strictures (don't work on Sunday, don't watch television and listen to the radio) to no moral guidance

I feel Christianity was an elaborate justification and motivation but like The Emperors new clothes. I think leaving religion is that kind of event that exposes to you that there are elaborate social fictions.

(sorry for being long winded here)