• Roy Davies
    I’m a newbie to this forum, and I am intrigued by the names people choose. An interesting aspect of this forum is that each argument has to stand by itself because, at least initially, one has no idea of the reputation of the person making the argument. In normal discourse, a step in an argument would have a value that is a function of the argument itself and the reputation of the person saying it.

Anyway, I digress - I chose a name coming into the forum that represents me - it is my name, and I’m not trying to project anything other than who I really am. But some of the other user names are obviously chosen to project some persona or imply a reputation.

I wonder what the motivations are for choosing these names...
  • Michael
    I too chose my name because it's my name.
  • Roy Davies
    Perhaps we are not imaginative enough to come up with something more inventive.
  • Roy Davies
    I suppose that there are those who seek anonymity by choosing a nom de plume. Perhaps they are uncomfortable with having their statements associated with themselves.

Then there are those that seem to choose a name associated with some desired attribute, or a philosopher that they perhaps aspire to emulate. Perhaps they are uncomfortable in being themselves, and wish to borrow the mana of another.

Me, I know I know nothing, and therefore my only direction is to decrease my ignorance. I assume my ideas are probably wrong, and I wish to be criticised, for only through such critique, can I find where the value of my ideas sits in the world of ideas. Only I can be me.
  • Sir2u
    No, I am not egoistic.
    I is just a phrase I have to repeat often in my job.
  • Noble Dust