• Banno
    You guys are very confused.Olivier5

I've no idea of your background or what you have read in the past; but I do know that the folk with whom you have been chatting here are not neophytes, having been on this forum and others for more than a few years, and having qualifications in this and related topics.

Might it be, just possibly, that they are trying to show you something important that you may have missed or perhaps misunderstood?
  • Olivier5
    Might it be, just possibly, that they are trying to show you something important that you may have missed or perhaps misunderstood?Banno

Or vice versa.
  • Banno
    Indeed. Although, given that you seem to me to have missed a point of fairly elementary logic in your discussion with Isaac...
  • Olivier5
    As you might guess, my inkling is that you missed his obvious mistake: that of confusing a word with its meaning.

Let me try the tedious analytical route, see if that works... You don't say: "I have a meaning of pain in my knee", do you? So you cannot replace the word 'pain' in that sentence by the words 'meaning of pain'. Why then would you think that you can replace the word 'pain' by another symbol meaning the class of all possible meanings?

If one could legitimately say: "I have a meaning of pain in my knee", then one could transpose that meaningfully into "I have a {meaning} in my knee". But since one cannot legitimately say: "I have a meaning of pain in my knee", then one cannot assume that its transposition into "I have a {meaning} in my knee" ought to yield anything other than nonsense.

I hope this dots all the i's and crosses all the t's.
  • Isaac
    Why then would you think that you can replace the word 'pain' by another symbol meaning the class of all possible meanings?Olivier5

Since you said...

Anything you can think of, perceive, feel, plan and do, remember, or imagine.Olivier5