• Albert1990
    Hi! My name is Albert. I am a college student studying sociology. I am in a sociology theory course in which each of us is required to teach a class period. My assignment is to teach a period in which we are covering selected readings from Discipline and Punish (Foucault) and The Logic of Practice/ Social Space and Symbolic Space (a lecture) by Bordieu. I was wondering if anyone could recommend texts which will prepare me for this assignment outside of the course readings? I have six weeks to prepare so there is time to read but I would like to find a commentary on these philosophers in general as well as analysis on the assigned readings if possible.
  • tim wood
    As to content, no. As to task, yes. When appropriate material is in hand and mind, then decide what you want them to know or be able to do when your teaching is done. Know or be able to do. Know or be able to do. If you do not have an answer to that, you cannot teach - for the simple reason, what are you teaching?

When you make the decision, write it down. Written, understood, and adopted, it becomes the sure light to guide you through any darkness, difficulty, or doubt. And of course you can and should run it by your professor well in advance - it will impress the hell out of him or her.

In determining what to teach, pay careful attention to your audience and understand who they are and what their abilities are. Your instructor is also a part, and there is nothing to prevent you from teaching him too, though what he learns may not be the same thing as the others.

You now have a statement: "When I have done, I want them to know exactly [....] and be able to do exactly[....]," either or both. The "exactly" serves to get you close. At the rifle range, it's "aim small, miss small."