• Olivier5
    Brains operate on electricity, as do computers.Harry Hindu
    The brain is not an electric machine, for the most part it is an hormonal machine with a bit of electricity to speed it the signals.
  • EnPassant
    Thought is being and being is thought. In our modern ossified world we tend to believe thinking is just abstract machinations and 'logic' and such things. It is much broader than that.
  • Harry Hindu
    In common language: there’s always some mental activity happening.Olivier5
    Would you categorize some mental activity as not thinking, as opposed to thinking? Would dreaming qualify as thinking?

In theory it can be done, but current ones can’t so by my definition they are not “thinking”. What I mean by aware is: I can hear myself thinking. I have some knowledge of what I think while I think it.Olivier5
    You can "hear" yourself think? How were you able to accomplish that?

To say that you have knowledge, is knowledge dependent upon thinking? Isn't saying anything dependent upon some sort of thinking before saying it? Can you think about thinking? isn't this just an information processing loop that we can program a computer to do as long as the information being processed in the loop is about itself to some degree? Again, what would the information need to be about for it to qualify as thinking? Do the thoughts necessarily need to be about the self - reflective - to qualify as thinking? Are ants self-aware? Are ants capable of thinking?

The brain is not an electric machine, for the most part it is an hormonal machine with a bit of electricity to speed it the signals.Olivier5
    Do you have any citations to support this assertion? Even if you did, are you saying that thinking is dependent upon hormones? We can write a program that emulates how our emotions impact our thinking.
  • Olivier5

Hey Harry, you ask a lot of questions. Can you prioritize a bit? To take a simple one:

Would dreaming qualify as thinking?Harry Hindu