• Daniel
    This is a new idea I just started working on, and it needs lots of refining (and tbh I have not done much research on the topic), so please be patient if it is not explained very well. I just want to hear your opinion about it. I am not very good at keeping long discussions, but I really enjoy reading your opinions, so feel free to comment whatever comes to your mind after reading this.

Assuming the theory of evolution is true, and that it is an organism's genome which serves as the blueprint for each one of its organs, I have reasoned that every idea must also be subjected to natural selection since ideas depend on the brain whose actual shape and function are a consequence of natural selection acting on this organ. Thus, in a population, the set of existent ideas is such that it is the fittest set. If this is the case, that the set of thoughts of a population is under natural selection, then I am programmed, by evolution, to have a limited mind, in the sense that my brain will only be able to generate a particular set of ideas whose nature is mainly determined by my brain's actual state which, again, has been molded by natural selection (thing about an arm which has a limited set of movements that it is able to perform). So, for example, it might be the case that God is just an idea that's survived because it confers some kind of reproductive advantage to the person that has it, and so through the passage of time it's become fixed in the population. Another example might be the idea of what is real and what is not, and etc. Do you see the dependancy of our mindset in evolution?
  • Echarmion
    Assuming the theory of evolution is true, and that it is an organism's genome which serves as the blueprint for each one of its organs, I have reasoned that every idea must also be subjected to natural selection since ideas depend on the brain whose actual shape and function are a consequence of natural selection acting on this organ.Daniel