• Pfhorrest
    This thread is a continuation of the multi-thread project begun here.

In this thread we discuss the essay On Language and the Meaning of Words, the first topical essay that actually fits in a subforum here, in which I discuss the meaning of words from a speech-act framework, dividing things up into questions and statements, "impressions" and "expressions", and most significantly, world-to-mind and mind-to-world directions of fit, laying the groundwork for my metaethics by relating moral semantics to ordinary, non-moral semantics in an analogous fashion.

I'm looking for feedback both from people who are complete novices to philosophy, and from people very well-versed in philosophy. I'm not so much looking to debate the ideas themselves right now, especially the ones that have already been long-debated (though I'd be up for debating the truly new ones, if any, at a later time). But I am looking for constructive criticism in a number of ways:

- Is it clear what my views are, and my reasons for holding them? (Even if you don't agree with those views or my reasons for holding them.) Especially if you're a complete novice to philosophy.

- Are any of these views new to you? Even if I attribute them to someone else, I'd like to know if you'd never heard of them before.

- Are any of the views that I did not attribute to someone else actually views someone else has held before? Maybe I know of them and just forgot to mention them, or maybe I genuinely thought it was a new idea of my own, either way I'd like to know.

- If I did attribute a view to someone, or gave it a name, or otherwise made some factual claim about the history of philosophical thought, did I get any of that wrong?