• EricH
    I am not an expert in these matters, but there are other highly qualified folks out there who are pointing out significant issues with this study:
    https://medicalxpress.com/news/2023-02-masks-covid-dont.html

Also there are numerous studies indicating that masks are effective:
    https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/science/science-briefs/masking-science-sars-cov2.html#anchor_1634654801820

Again - I'm not saying this study is wrong, but it seems premature to draw any conclusions from it. In fact, on the Cochrane website we can see this:

Lisa Bero, Cochrane Public Health and Health Systems Senior Editor and an author on an Editorial published to accompany this review said, “The results of this review should be interpreted cautiously, and the uncertain findings should not be taken as evidence that these measures are not effective.
  • Isaac
    Here outcome means whether you lived or died.frank

It doesn't. The studies involved are summarised for you in tables 1, 2, and 3. None of them measured the outcome of the course of the ARI, they only measured contraction.
  • Tzeentch
    This forum has practically no audience. It's just a few posters. There are more moderators on this forum than posters on any given day.frank

Hey now.
  • Isaac
    there are other highly qualified folks out there who are pointing out significant issues with this study:EricH

I don't doubt it, especially given the vitriol with which the advice was promoted. there's going to be every incentive out there to find every flaw possible. Odd that no such flaw-finding zeal was applied to the studies showing even the vaguest links between mask-wearing and disease reduction, or the extremely flawed studies on myocarditis, or the sketchy trials for the original vaccine, or the barely existent trials showing any benefits to the interminable 'boosters'...

One can always find flaws. No trials are perfect. As I said earlier here...