• Qwex
    I understand:

Natural: 1, 2, 3...
    Whole: 0, 1, 2...
    Integer: -1, 0, 1...
    Rational: m/n
    Irrational: x - m/n
    Real: applicable to number line.

What I want to know is how N is defined.

Is there special use of the word 'is'? Natural numbers are N, is incomplete.

A. 1 through 9, are numbers, why?

B. Why does the number system progress, beginning from the left, proceding to the right?

C. Is human number just a tool?

I'm just getting into mathematics...

Sorry for having an intricate view - I'm not trying to distract. My primary question is (A).

Further Edits:

A shadow-argument:

I understand you can count your fingers, 1 - 4, but what says a finger is a 1 and not crossed fingers? The 'whole' of the finger?

In which case it's not a single, there's an organism involved(such as under the skin of the finger), and thus, a finger is not a 1.

I understand 1 is a concept but mathmatically, 1 is a point.

Perhaps, to point at your finger you'll use the number 1 but to define it numerically it's a different number.
  • tim wood
    A. 1 through 9, are numbers, why?Qwex
    Two things there ain't. One, there ain't no sanity clause. Two, there ain't no why.
    They're just ideas that have a wide range of uses. For convenience, they're called numbers.
  • Qwex
    Okay, thanks for your input.

May I ask that you read the 'shadow argument' I edited into the original post?
  • Qwex
    If you were imagining shapes, a finger is a finger number more than a 1 number, it's that simple.

Mind is, evalutation as well as observation, of shapes in nature amongst other things.

How you formulate a shape is very partially, by drawing a line and at minimal you can formulate dots to help you, that is why we use a rule to draw a straight line, we connect two points. You can imagine two dots and if powerful enough, connect them. Imagining a illusion of a line. This line can take us into a powerful thought network.