• Mikie
    There were years when I was convinced that our capacity for language must have evolved gradually as a complex form of communication, in accordance with the widely-held belief in evolutionary biology that organisms change slowly and incrementally via natural selection (with some exceptions, Steve Gould being an obvious example).

After reading Chomsky, I now lean much more towards the idea that not only did language not evolve gradually as a form of communication, but that language isn't communication at all.

I'm interested to hear if others, who have specialized in the evolution of language or are well versed in its literature, have considered Chomsky's ideas on this matter. I haven't seen much in this forum so far, although I am new to it.
  • tim wood
    but that language isn't communication at all.Xtrix
    Educate, please. If not communication, then what?
  • Mikie

Language is a system of thought. It's communicated very rarely, whether by sign or through speech. So it's communicative properties aren't what's essential. One can communicate with a hairstyle, bees with a waggle dance, etc. There are all kinds of ways to communicate, down through the insects. So language certainly isn't that.
  • Brett

It's communicated very rarely, whether by sign or through speech.Xtrix

Do you mean thought is communicated very rarely? And very rarely, does that mean not very often or not very accurately?

After reading Chomsky, I now lean much more towards the idea that not only did language not evolve gradually as a form of communication, but that language isn't communication at all.Xtrix

Can you direct me to his thoughts on this?
  • Mikie
    Do you mean thought is communicated very rarely? And very rarely, does that mean not very often or not very accurately?Brett

I wouldn't say language is thought. But it does seem to be related to thinking. This is up for debate, of course, and an interesting question.

By "very rarely" I mean not very often, yes.