• Punk Rascal
    Fourteen year old newbie here,

Spending my first 13 years alive in a town with a population of 2.5 thousand, i grew accustomed to the same streets and the same three corner stores, the four coffee stands and the one grocery store. Everybody knew me, though I never met them or bothered to.

I moved to a bigger city, with a population of 60 thousand. Big jump. During the time I spent there, I made no friends. Everybody did their own thing. It was there that I realized that the bigger the city, the less fucks are given about you. They're not as close knit as what I was used to. In my old town I'd often hear chatter about how crazy the neighboring city was getting, with a population ten times ours. 'I'm glad our town isn't like that,' they'd say.

What is the foundation for a strong, healthy, vibrant community? A strong connection between the people. This is something big cities don't have.

I don't know how to articulate this... this thought. My mind is fried. Do you think that the lack of connection between communities drives chaos?
  • Galuchat

If Dunbar is correct, a large human social group has no bearing on the number of friends and acquaintances one of its members may have.

Dunbar's Number: 150 (with a 95% confidence interval of 100 to 230), being the number of stable interpersonal relationships a person can maintain.

Dunbar, Robin Ian MacDonald. 1992. Neocortex Size as a Constraint on Group Size in Primates. Journal of Human Evolution 22 (6): 469–493. doi:10.1016/0047-2484(92)90081-J.
  • Galuchat
    What is the foundation for a strong, healthy, vibrant community? A strong connection between the people. This is something big cities don't have.Punk Rascal

A town and a city are two different types of social group.
    Each type has many tokens.
    Every social group has a unique culture.
    So:
    1) The culture of every town will be different from the culture of another town.