• Deletedmemberzc
    I found the article (from 1983) in The Essential Davidson. If anyone has access to a pdf link, that would be extremely helpful. https://epdf.pub/the-essential-davidson.html

Interested in thoughts on the essay and the essay's position in Davidson's philosophical preferences and life-trajectory. References are appreciated.

I'm still reading and re-reading. I'm new to Davidson.

Early in the essay Davidson says: "I do not want to say, at this point, that every possible coherent set of beliefs is true."

Later on he says: "...belief is in its nature veridical."

The word "veridical" strikes me as suspicious here.

From the essay as a whole, I get an impression of what I might call "radical charity." Are Davidson's philosophical forays in general stabilized by a kind of radical charity?
  • Gnomon
    From the essay as a whole, I get an impression of what I might call "radical charity." Are Davidson's philosophical forays in general stabilized by a kind of radical charity?ZzzoneiroCosm
    What do you mean by "radical charity", in the context of Truth and Knowledge?

If anyone has access to a pdf link, that would be extremely helpful.ZzzoneiroCosm
    I'm not familiar with Donald Davidson, but a quick Google search found this link to a PDF :
    https://epdf.pub/the-essential-davidson.html
  • creativesoul
    Later on he says: "...belief is in its nature veridical."

The word "veridical" strikes me as suspicious here.
    ZzzoneiroCosm

He's right there, if using a certain sense of "truth"... The more I read Davidson, I think he struggled with what to think about truth. He seems to waffle between coherence and correspondence. Some other folk hereabout have the very same problem...

We can accept both uses all the while knowing that only one exists prior to language use, and it's not coherence.
  • Deletedmemberzc
    Davidson's self-criticism may be the best place to start:

From "Afterthoughts" (1987)