• Anthony Kennedy
    To begin this, I will say that I am very new to philosophy and this question is one that I think about very often.

When thinking about whether or not a human deserves happiness, you first have to answer the question: "Do humans deserve anything?". This question is one that I've noticed most people will say yes to, but when questioning why they believe this they can never provide an actual logical answer.

There have been a few instances when people respond "no" to my question and then I say "So we don't deserve to be happy then?". They automatically change their answer.

I do not believe that any human deserves happiness because I don't think that any human truly deserves anything. Even though life isn't something any individual human asks for ( because a non-born being can't think or want anything because it isn't anything ) humans do things in this life that make them bad people. I believe that every person that ever lived did bad things at some point and in doing a truly bad thing happiness should not be something that person should experience.

Happiness in and of itself is something that will ruin the world just because you can't have happiness without anger, fear, sadness. Regardless of what anyone in this world does, people will be upset about something no matter what other people are currently going through.

When people are upset because of life (people will naturally be upset regardless of anything else) and other people are happy than people become jealous and begin hating. This is inevitable and there isn't anything that can be done about it in our world.

When people are just upset, they will naturally cope and get over their loss. It is only when they see others being happy about events they are personally upset about that people begin to hate.

So do humans deserve to be happy even though it is happiness that causes divides in people?
  • Pantagruel