• Changeling
    After a recent visit to the UK it was noted that I was having trouble reading things in the distance that others were easily able to make out. I decided to have my eyesight tested and it was revealed that I have a degree of nearsightedness. This made me recall something I once heard in a Jiddu Krishnamurti lecture about there being no need to wear glasses and that a good level of eyesight can be maintained without them... I've done a little research on this and found this website in which John V Christianson describes how Krishnamurti was a follower of the Bates method of eyesight maintenance, along with Aldous Huxley:

Basically I'm reaching out and asking if anyone knows anything about the Bates method/have used it and experienced any benefits from it? I also know a colleague who had laser eye surgery a couple of weeks ago (6000usd per eye, in which part of the process involves the eyeballs being minutely slashed) and I'm not sure I would want to go through with that. Lastly, glasses can be expensive and cumbersome .
  • unenlightened
    I tried it in a rather desultory way many years ago with no noticeable effect. Eyes are complicated and can be affected by many things - stress is one to consider. It has the ring of wishful thinking to me, though it seems to work in some cases. I guess if you stay away from the more extreme magnifying glass and sun type exercises, it might be worth a go. I had to get glasses to drive, and found I hated the clarity they gave. I find the blurry world much more comfortable.

To be honest, Bates has had enough time to prove himself and totally hasn't, and that puts him on a par with homeopathy, really. Get some specs for when you need clarity, spend time in the country or by the sea where there is a long way to see, (it's good for you anyway) and avoid too much close work. That's my advice. And don't stress.
  • Baden