• Baden

Visually, I can do as far as a triple, presuming 'seeing' the sentences counts as thinking them. My auditories, if I'm trying to deliberately create them, seem to cancel each other out.

I imagine we both had the same kind of 'quasi-auditory echo', I don't want to say that I literally experienced sound, or even something like a memory of sound, though it was probably closer to the latter than the former.fdrake

Maybe, although with a single sentence, visualizing it and hearing it are totally different for me: one is a picture and one is a voice (not mine).
  • Baden
    The main point is we think in stereo whereas @S and co are stuck in boring mono-mentalicity.
  • Wheatley
    As it happens, I have a degree (Zoology)...And with regard to your earlier complaints about me correcting your language, I have a degree in that too and have taught at universities up to Master's level in the field. -- Baden

I rest my case.
  • fdrake
    Visually, I can do as far as a triple, presuming 'seeing' the sentences counts as thinking them. My auditories, if I'm trying to deliberately create them, seem to cancel each other out.Baden

Can you do more if you visualise filling out a naughts and crosses board with the sentences?

I like----|I like----| I like
    oranges| apples | bananas
    -------------------------------
    I like----| I like----| I like
    pears---| grapes-| kiwi

And so on.

I don't get any auditory impression when I visualise the board, but for the 'two speakers' one I did. I can't get any auditory impression past 2 either.
  • Baden

:lol: You win that one.
  • Baden

I can't maintain any coherence past three no matter how I try to mentally organize it. As for auditory impression, I can visualize with or without that but that impression is just a jumbled mess when the strawberry and banana come together at the end of the sentences.
  • S
    The main point is we think in stereo whereas S and co are stuck in boring mono-mentalicity.Baden