• christian2017
    Before i get into this i would like to say that i have tremendous respect for those who have served and those who will serve in the US military and i do believe war is necessary in extreme cases. That being said i have worked in the military industtrial complex and i currently work in the restaurant industry due to bad decisions i've made in my past.

I would have to say that my experience working in the forementioned office job i had was far far far more rewarding then working in the restaurant industry. The largest employer in the united states is the Department of Defense. My question is this: Should such a large part of the economy really rely on military technology production and maintenance. In the Iraq war and the Aghanistan war some 80,000 military personell commited suicide due to depression. Does it make sense to spend so much money to protect our soldiers from the enemies weapons when i would argue its our own society that has indirectly led to their death? Thoughts and opinions. I'll try not to respond to anyone and just listen to what others have to say.
  • tim wood
    In the Iraq war and the Aghanistan war some 80,000 military personell commited suicide due to depression.christian2017

I didn't believe this, so I looked it up and got this (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/United_States_military_veteran_suicide):

"According to the most recent report published by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) in 2016, which analyzed 55 million veterans' records from 1979 to 2014, the current analysis indicates that an average of 20 veterans a day die from suicide." (My italics.)

Thirty-five years, 7,000+ suicides per year, Call it a quarter of a million deaths.

Online I find that in 2017 there were reported just under 47,200 suicides. The rate is around fourteen per hundred thousand per year, a number slowly trending upwards from about ten, over about twenty years.