• gsky1
    I am new to philosophy and out of my depth so please bear with me :)

If someone could clear this one up for me in laymen's terms that would be fantastic.

What valid reasoning/logic allows for solipsism to not necessarily be true?

Or, in other words : How can the outside logically be considered possible when your subjective viewpoint always comes first and is technically subjectively created? What gives the possibility of the outside world possibly being real valid credibility?

How would/could you answer that?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

• Terrapin Station
    Or, in other words : How can the outside logically be considered possible when your subjective viewpoint always comes first and is technically subjectively created? What gives the possibility of the outside world possibly being real valid credibility?gsky1

In order for "the outside" to not be possible, it has to be impossible, and traditionally, impossibility has amounted to the notion that there's something logically contradictory about it--something that amounts to unequivocally asserting both P and not-P. Normally we require someone to make the contradiction explicit in order to say that something is contradictory/impossible.
  • Frank Apisa
    Not sure you have a hard grasp of solipsism...but I agree with the essence of your position.

Solipsism gets lots of scorn in philosophical discussions...but it seems right on the button to me.

If "knowledge" is possible...all I can be sure of is ME.

I see other stuff out there, but while I am confident (perhaps unadvisedly so) that I exist...ALL of what else seems to exist MAY BE nothing but an illusion within ME.
  • tim wood
    If "knowledge" is possible...all I can be sure of is ME.Frank Apisa

How are you sure of you?
  • DingoJones

Cogito ergo sum. Its the only thing you can be certain of. Its not sensibly deniable.
  • Frank Apisa

I'm not.

Please consider the qualifier I used..."IF" KNOWLEDGE IS POSSIBLE."