• Hoo
    I've been using this phrase for my own purposes for a few years now. I must have heard it once, maybe in Hesse's Steppenwolf.) I've thought of it as a background noise that haunts our earnestness, certainty, and rightouesness --but eventually in a good way. Anyway, I thought I'd google it. I found a nice Einstein quote and a "mystic" text that I can really relate to in terms of content, even if the style is a little goofy.

Whoever undertakes to set himself up as a judge of Truth and Knowledge is shipwrecked by the laughter of the gods. — Einstein

Gradually, as you learn the Laughter of God and join in with the glory of the Sons of the Living God, then you will laugh at yourself. You will perhaps go back and laugh all the mistakes and faults and limitations out of existence You will stand with your glorious feet on the mountain-tops of Self-Revelation, laughing at your universe and with your universe, and laughing in words: "It is wonderful, it is wonderful, it is wonderful."

"Let the filthy be filthy still." Some may read into the Laughter of God a belief in carelessness and indifference, and some consecrated souls may rail and tear their hair and say that it is encouraging license and making nothing of sin, in order that one may indulge in sin, and so on; and for them this message is not.
    — Walter Lanyon's The Laughter of God
    I'm not sure whether anyone is relating much to my themes lately, but I like this stuff too much not to share it....

Any thoughts?
  • Hoo
    This is too good. Is it over the top a little? Yeah. Un-hip? Prolly so. But here lies that radical old time "religion" I was sniffing around for.

http://self-improvement-ebooks.com/books/tlog.php