• Ansiktsburk
    Hi all, long since I wrote here, I just started a new user when Philosophy Forums just died, and I didnt like the layout on this site but will make a fresh start now...

I was pretty active when Philosophy Forums was running. A happy amateur from a ninetofive background where people were supposed to study to get a job instead of humanities even if you're a humanities person. So I become a computer engineer with philosophy as a hobby. An armchair philosopher I suppose is the anglo-american term for it.

I got the title from two threads. One which seem to be pretty acadademic-institution-ish and one that like everyone could take part in worldwide. Even me from the dark Scandinavia...

What I look for is the level in-between. Or rather, how the world of "papers" are engineered(i'm an engineer, used to bring the stuff the techical science guys invent into mobile phones, IPads and stuff) into the real world. How could the science of philosophy spill down to make good statements about "political correctness"? Could even the philosophical institutions have good things to say about things like "political correctness", "global warming", "Trump" and stuff like that? Philosophy is the love of thinking and knowledge, so I guest philosophical research should give that kind of knowledge? Should there be philosophical engineers who brought the knowledge to the "real world"?
  • unenlightened
    Wittgenstein was an engineer. One of his analogies for philosophy was that it was using language to do nothing, rather as the mechanic runs an engine on idle, in order to tune it and adjust things, not to go anywhere or do any work. So it doesn't even intend to 'get anywhere' but only to make it easier for scientists politicians and saints to say clearly what is on the minds. Maybe something like error trapping in your field?
  • Ansiktsburk