• Jose Guilherme
    Hello

I’m studying by myself Daniel Bonevac’s book “Deduction” and I’ve encountered some exercises whose resolution I’m finding problematic. There are some that I would like to discuss with you, but for now I would like to concentrate on exercise 20, page 238.

So, the exercise is the following:

3xVy( y = x <-> Gy); therefore 3x3yVz ( ~ (x = y) & (z = x V z = y)) <-> 3xVy( y = x <-> ~ Gy)

Any comment would be greatly appreciated.
  • tim wood
    Is the = sign a higher level than the <-> sign?

I read this in sort-of English this way:

1a) (y=x) is the same as Gy
    or
    1b) y=(x is the same as Gy)

therefore (I read 'therefore" as "=>", or "implies".)

2) x not-equal y and (z=x) v (z=y)

is the same as

3a) (y=x) is the same as not-Gy)
    or
    3b) y=(x is the same as not-Gy)

So. From 1a): x=y
    From this it follows that 2) is false. (Because 2) says x not-equal y.)
    For 2) to be the same as 3), because 2) is false, 3) must be false.
    3) contradicts 1). 1) being true, then 3) is false.

Or, a true statement implies that a false statement is the same as a false statement. Which is true.

-----

2) is nonsensical anyway.
  • Jose Guilherme
    Oh... my bad (I'm portuguese, by the way, so some errors in my english are possible).

<-> is the conective for the logical equivalence. So in the exercise "y = x <-> Gy" is "y is equal to x if and ony if y is G".
  • fdrake
    3xVy( y = x <-> Gy); therefore 3x3yVz ( ~ (x = y) & (z = x V z = y)) <-> 3xVy( y = x <-> ~ Gy)

=

?

Forum has mathjax support.
  • Jose Guilherme
    Yes.

It's precisely that!
  • andrewk
    Let's try making it a bit more intuitive.

Let the set of all objects be U. We don't know what properties the predicate G has, but we know that, like any unary predicate, it must divide U into a set of objects that satisfy G, call it u1, and a set that doesn't, call it u2.