• Artemis

They're not though. Gender roles are key to gender.

Sex is independent of all that though.
  • bert1
    Well, "absurd" isn't really a counterargument. I'll be here when you've got some explanation as to what gender "feels" like rather than just a knee-jerk dismissal.NKBJ

I'm not sure what it feels like exactly for others, as one only ever really feels one's own experiences. But I think it makes sense for me, for example, to say what it feels like to be male. I have some feelings, experiences and responses to stimuli which are very much a consequence of my being male. That seems uncontroversial enough.
  • Artemis

I would say that's extremely controversial, actually. And it's easy to point into the abstract nebula, but how about some examples?
  • bert1
    Sure. The following feelings I would characterise as typically male. The feeling of immersion and intense interest one can have when solving mechanical problems, for example when I built a recumbent bicycle (it wasn't very good - needs a lot of adjustment); the dissatisfaction that men feel if they are not working reasonably hard; I think men have a strong desire to be good providers, I know I do; men feel that conceptual clarity is important and worth pursuing.

Of course, women may also have all these experiences, but I very much doubt if they have them at the same frequency as men. I have never known a woman to mend a puncture on a bicycle. I have even shown women who profess to wish to be independent how to mend a puncture on a bicycle, and I still end up mending it for them. They leave the bike in full view with a flat tyre until my impulse to fix it overrides any other consideration. They are fundamentally not interested in mending bicycles, but they know I am intensely interested in doing so. They want functioning bicycles, but do they want to fix them? They do not, sir. Not while there is a man about.