• Johnono
    Hi guys I'm fairly new to philosophy of language and have started to learn about the basics. Ive been introduced to Kripke and his argument that proper names are rigid desgnators in that they refer to the same individual in all possible worlds. My question is how does one make this consistent with his causal-historical theory of reference. An individual in another possible world cannot form part of a casual historical chain that Kripke alleges is necassary for a proper name to refer to that individual?
  • schopenhauer1
    Hi guys I'm fairly new to philosophy of language and have started to learn about the basics. Ive been introduced to Kripke and his argument that proper names are rigid desgnators in that they refer to the same individual in all possible worlds. My question is how does one make this consistent with his causal-historical theory of reference. An individual in another possible world cannot form part of a casual historical chain that Kripke alleges is necassary for a proper name to refer to that individual?Johnono

I refer you to @Banno.
  • Banno
    Cheers.

My question is how does one make this consistent with his causal-historical theory of reference. An individual in another possible world cannot form part of a casual historical chain that Kripke alleges is necassary for a proper name to refer to that individual?Johnono

It's easy to over-think this. There re plenty of threads around this forum that display how not to understand Kripke.

It's important to understand that Kripke intends the causal historical chain as a suggestion of what might be going on, as an alternative to the descriptivist account. As he famously says, any philosophical theory is wrong. How to make sense of this?