• Carmaris19
    Ok, I am new to both philosophy and this forum, and I am working off of just a basic intro textbook explanation of this subject, so
    I apologise for any lack of etiquette I may have or if this subject has been over done.

Moving on though--I would like to discuss my thoughts on Plato's "world of becoming" and "world of being" (forms) as well as hear other peoples' thoughts on what, when first explained to me, sounded like a bunch of hooey, but now (after reading over it like 10 more times) find to be a rather interesting and enlightened take on things (even if I ultimately still disagree with its conclusions).

First off a simple summary of my understanding of the topic. I believe Plato argued that there was a material reality (the world of becoming) that was indeed "real," but that there was a deeper--immaterial--nature of reality (the world of being) that was more real.

The argument for why this world of being is more real than the world of being is in essence this: the ultimate reality should first of all be unchanging (perhaps I guess because if something can readily be given up, i.e changed, then it is not essential to reality? IDK not the interesting part to me except in setting up the basis for more ponderings). The world of becoming (material world) is in constant change though--so it cannot be the "essential" reality.

The world of being though is a world of "perfect forms) however--or rather ideas. Ideas do not change. I will give 2 examples. The first is that of the perfect right triangle. He argues that it does not exist in the world of becoming because there will always be imperfections from a shakey hand or imperfect drawing surface. The "true" right triangle lies in the world of being.