• Wilco Lensink
    This is my first post. I apologize in advance if it's a waste of your time.
    As an amateur I try to analyze and understand the thought-processes that give rise to scientific theories and paradigms. I am much interested in basically every branch of science.
    One of the questions I am interested in is whether addiction can be labelled a genetic disease.
    It's not rare to come across a statement like: "addiction is a genetic (hereditary) disease because a lot of the times when parents are addicted the child will be more prone to also get addicted later in life".
    If I want to test this statement I set up an experiment. But in what way do experiments reflect reality?
    For example, I select at random 100 addicts who have children (group A) and 100 people who are not addicts and have children (group B). I observe whether there are more children who are addicts in group A or group B. From this information I then draw a conclusion.
    Most scientists will probably be aware of the fact that there are many loopholes in this experiment and drawing ultimate conclusions (universal truths) from the results of such an experiment would be questionable. For example, if there are in fact more addict children in group A than in group B this does not prove that addiction is a genetic/hereditary disease. It may perhaps be due to the child growing up in a household where addiction is normal and thus is given a bad example. He may be psychologically influenced by this example. (Nature/nurture debate)
    Still, a lot of the times you read in magazines or newspapers things like: "scientists have discovered that addiction is an hereditary disease exclamation point" as if it were unquestionable fact. Apparently the nature/nurture debate has been settled in favor of nature. Which is all good, I mean, I am all for nature, but we shouldn't forget the effects of nurture.