• Mattt
    I am a college student studying philosophy, and currently I have a lot of misunderstandings about Aristotle's Unmoved Mover.
    1. How is the unmoved mover not a conraditction of everything else Aristolte proposes in the Metaphysics?
    2. In this theory, how does the unmoved mover cause motion?
  • Metaphysician Undercover
    I am a college student studying philosophy, and currently I have a lot of misunderstandings about Aristotle's Unmoved Mover.
    1. How is the unmoved mover not a conraditction of everything else Aristolte proposes in the Metaphysics?
    2. In this theory, how does the unmoved mover cause motion?
    Mattt

It's not a contradiction because his so-called cosmological argument demonstrates that if anything is eternal it must be actual. The actual eternal thing cannot be moved because it is already eternal, yet it moves, as a cause. It is a perfect circular motion, which by the nature of a circle, has no beginning or end.
  • Pussycat
    It causes motion to others by being a final cause, to add.
  • Metaphysician Undercover

This is doubtful, and where we might find some contradiction if we dig deep enough. The eternal circular motion described by Aristotle is a form, and therefore a formal cause rather than a final cause.
  • Pussycat
    I think that for the unmoved movers, he meant them as a final cause.
  • Mattt
    It is a perfect circular motion, which by the nature of a circle, has no beginning or end.Metaphysician Undercover

I had the understanding that the unmoved mover was necessary as it solved the issue of infinite regress, which Aristotle had an issue with based on the third man argument. If the unmoved mover is part of the perfect circular motion isn't it moving with the universe rather than causing the motion?
  • Mentalusion