• RegularGuy
    Having participated in this forum for about a month, I'm beginning to suspect that my reasons for giving up discussing philosophy with people after I graduated from college may be justified. I find time and again that philosophers can't agree on basic premises; and if we can't even agree on basic premises, then our grandest conclusions have little value for the opposing team.

So what to do from here? I may finish up by posting in a couple of choice threads to bolster my positions on these topics, but after that I may no longer take part in this forum. I plan to act out my philosophy in life with the people I encounter, but I will try not to persuade others to my point of view. People tend to perceive attempts at persuasion as a kind of evangelism that they must resist because they hold their beliefs so dear, being a part of their perceived identity. Perhaps I am guiilty as well, sometimes moreso than at other times, but perhaps that is unavoidable.

It's been fun and I enjoyed MOST of the discussions I've taken part in, but I fear that this endeavor is fruitless. I wish you all well, and I hope you get what you need from this forum.

Best,

Noah
  • RegularGuy
    I've decided to stick around. I simply have nothing better to do. ;)
  • Metaphysician Undercover
    Having participated in this forum for about a month, I'm beginning to suspect that my reasons for giving up discussing philosophy with people after I graduated from college may be justified. I find time and again that philosophers can't agree on basic premises; and if we can't even agree on basic premises, then our grandest conclusions have little value for the opposing team.Noah Te Stroete