• old
    Could you expand upon this (or anyone else who happens to agree)? I'm genuinely curious. I have no philisophical knowledge of Witty at all.emancipate

I think the later Wittgenstein is great too, though he may only be especially important for those with a tendency to get lost in form on their way to content. While some perhaps understand him to offer theories about language, I like to understand him as destroying theories about language that get in the way of just using it effectively. These bad theories are destroyed by paying attention to what we actually say and do all the time --comparing the theories to what's actually going on and finding them wanting.
    It's maybe not that simple, because some of us really want to be masters of reality without having to get off the couch. While this quote oversimplifies the situation, I like the spirit of it:

The real lesson here is that the concepts we use in everyday life are fuzzy, and break down if pushed too hard. Even a concept as dear to us as 'I.' It took me a while to grasp this, but when I did it was fairly sudden, like someone in the nineteenth century grasping evolution and realizing the story of creation they'd been told as a child was all wrong. [2] Outside of math there's a limit to how far you can push words; in fact, it would not be a bad definition of math to call it the study of terms that have precise meanings. Everyday words are inherently imprecise. They work well enough in everyday life that you don't notice. Words seem to work, just as Newtonian physics seems to. But you can always make them break if you push them far enough.

I would say that this has been, unfortunately for philosophy, the central fact of philosophy. Most philosophical debates are not merely afflicted by but driven by confusions over words. Do we have free will? Depends what you mean by "free." Do abstract ideas exist? Depends what you mean by "exist."