• John64
    Hi,
    I'm new to Philosophy and I decided to start with The Republic of Plato by Charles H. Kerr, but it's only about 63 pages long, whereas another with a different author has over 300 pages long and is also on The Republic; should I return the one I currently have and get the one with more pages? It says "book 3" and I've tried to find the other volumes without any success; honestly, I'm quite confused.
  • Valentinus
    I recommend this translation: by Joe Sachs
    The Republic has 10 books.
    It sounds like you are looking at editions that publish one book at a time.
    Kerr published his work in 1918. He uses conventions that might not be familiar to you.
    I suggest you try looking at a range of translators on the web or at a library and find one that seems most natural to you.
  • John64
    Thanks for the help, even though I'm still just a little confused; regarding the book in the link, is that the only one, or are there 9 other volumes? Since you said there are 10...
  • Valentinus
    The book I linked to has all the books.
  • John64
    Oh okay, I get it now
  • I like sushi
    If you’re “new” then I would also highly recommend a series of podcasts uoooi can find for free from Oxford University. It gives a good run over several topics and follows how things have developed historically.

As for tackling Plato’s “The Republic” directly any translation will do at first if you take my approach - which is to have a basic understanding of ancient world history (not confusing today with past outlooks/perspectives) and to simply read the thing and gather own ideas about what is being said prior to reading the translators commentary; but you also need to pay attention to etymology and the difficulty of translating ancient Greek terms into modern English.