• Tim3003
    What is consciousness?

First, what do I mean by ‘consciousness’? I take as my starting point the difference between my waking state and that of my dog. My dog is awake, sentient and able to respond to environmental stimuli, plus her own urges, however she is not conscious as I mean it here. I am talking here about the awareness of my ‘self’ and what it is to 'be' my-self, plus an appreciation of others’ selves - one that humans alone have.

Second, if humans alone are conscious, when do they become so? Is a new-born baby conscious? Not as defined here I think. How about a child? It depends on the child’s age. Certainly by adolescence it is there. At some stage in childhood consciousness ‘arrives’. Perhaps that is at around the ages of 3 to 5 - along with the theory of mind? I’m no expert. However my interest is in where it comes from? Does it develop as a function of the brain’s growth, its maturity or the child’s experiences?

My belief is that consciousness develops alongside improving language. As a child gains language skills and begins to master the application of word labels to everyday concepts, the technique of conceptualisation in the mind grows and develops. It is only when a child knows what ‘I’ means, plus what ‘you’ means, and what ‘am’ means that Descartes’ words: ‘I think, therefore I am’ become meaningful. Or: ‘I think, therefore I realise I am’ in this context. With this realisation consciousness is born, and the self can start to be constructed around the kernel. The improving ability to reason and communicate using the constructs of language is what allows its birth and growth.