• Yadoula
    I have a gigantic, rediculous dilemma, a riddle, which I hoped you guys might be able to help me solve.

I’m a professional poker player who decided one day to write a training guide for beginners. To ensure this guide was as efficient as possible, I decided to organise all poker theory into something we call the ‘Levels of Thought’, which give us the stages of development of a poker player. I clearly understood all poker theory, so thought this would be an easy task, but it took me 5 very long years to complete. By the end, I had realised that the reason this task had been so difficult was because these levels of thought make up a rational thought-process built into the mind of all beings and is used by all beings to make all decisions. I had mapped out the strategic capabilities of the mind.

If you think this revelation would go down a treat amongst the poker community, you couldn’t be more wrong. This strategic thought-process is built into our minds, and what I have realised, is that all irrational strategies that the person has come to trust in, conflict with the thought-process causing something very similar to cognitive dissonance. Basically, if you are a poker player who has come to trust in imperfect plays, and I come to explain how these Levels work in respect of poker, you are going to rip off my head and spew down my throat.

I’ve spent years trawling poker forums to discuss this with the masses, and I’ve been banned from them all for doing nothing more than explain how these levels of thought really work. I discussed it with some of the most famous poker theorists. With mathematicians. With all kinds of people, but I always face the same problem. When I explain how these Levels work these people will all do anything they can to discredit my logic to prevent themselves from recognising how they work to protect the trust they have imperfect strategies.