• Ron Vincent
    I have a particular interest in the beneficial effects of culture and the arts on mental development and self-fulfilment. As a musician, I am particularly fascinated by the interconnections between musical structures and psychological development and would be interested to hear from other like-minded individuals who may have an interest in exploring this topic further.
  • jkop
    Hi, what's an example of an interconnection between a musical structure and psychological development?
  • BC
    You are supposing that the arts actually do shape the mind. I'll drink to that; I think there is some proof. But let's define the arts very broadly, and include theater, film, video games, and Saturday morning children's television as "art". We'll include everything from the most degraded Muzak and rap music to Mozart and Rameau. Everything counts from Michelangelo to the frankly stupid pile of gravel in the gallery.

Let's start with language: Psychologists have shown that watching television (from which there is a continual stream of language) has little effect on children's linguistic development. What matters is language spoken by real, and significant, people--parents, siblings, caregivers. Music, on the other hand, doesn't have to be performed live to interest children, but if they are going to participate (through movement, or banging on a can) they have to actually do it. When children play, they frequently enact stories either from real life (let's play doctor) or in imitation of art (let's play cowboys and indians).