• Abel Alarco
    Hey girls and boys! I am currently studying Wittgenstein's work thanks to a course I am taking in my U. Studying can get really boring if you are passively receiving information and not discussing the things you find. So let start with some questions, but first let me make clear how I will start this discussion:

a. English is not my native (Yo hablo español), so except some grammar mistakes once in a while. Keep in mind that Spanish punctuation is slightly different from the one you use in English, so except an excesive amount of commas.

b. Wittgenstein's work is far from clear and organized, way far. That means that I won't be trying to make my questions terminologically precise. Instead, I will try to make them as simple as possible. We can start with a simple question and then go to the hard, messy and intricate parts.

c. Let's keep the discussion relevant and important. Is to common for us to get lost in things that bear no importance at all, even for our own theories, however abstract they are (mainly, discussions about words and the order of words). Talking about things that can't prove their influence over our beliefs can't prove themselves to be profound or interesting, and that's booooooriiiiing. I invite you to extend Wittgenstein's discussions and your interpretations of Wittgenstein proposals as far as you can.

Now let's go to the questions

1. What is the point Wittgenstein is trying to make when he tells us that the proporties and the nature of a general proposition are not clear at all?