• Rayan
    So, I'm a complete beginner, and this is the first exercise in which I try to use the Fitch System to prove anything.
    I am asked to prove ( p => ( q => r ) ) => ( ( p => q ) => ( p => r ) ) using the Fitch Proof System.
    Are there any tips for knowing where to start? Which assumption should I start with?
  • fdrake
    It's a lot of conditionals, but the main thing that you have to notice is that you want to assume everything on the left of the =>, then show that assuming P=>Q then assuming P allows you to derive P=>R, that then means since you derived P=>R from assuming P=>Q you get (P=>Q) => (P=>R).

Chain of implication proofs generally proceed by assuming things on the left, then leveraging the assumption of the implications to get the things on the right, then since you assumed the things on the left they imply the things on the right.
  • fdrake
    Maybe it's easier to see why this works if you substitute in P is 'this shape is a cube', Q is 'this shape is a cuboid' and R is 'this shape has at least 2 equal sides'. This set of P,Q,R satisfies P=>Q=>R

It's true that if you have a cube (P), then (=>) it's also a cuboid (Q) (this is P=>Q). So (=>) it's true that you have at least two equal sides (R) since you have a cuboid (P) (this is P=>R).

Another way of thinking about it is that implications are machines that take inputs and give you outputs. If P is true on the left as well as (P=>Q =>R), that means that if you have P and P=>Q, you get Q, but if you have P=>Q, you get P=>R since Q=>R.
  • Rayan
    All right; so, I assumed what was on the left:

1 P => Q => R Assumption
    2 P=>Q Assumption
    3 P Assumption
    4 Q Implication Elimination 2, 3
    5 R Assumption
    6 P=>R Implication Introduction 3, 5
    7 P => Q => R => R Implication Introduction 2, 6
    8 ( P => ( Q => R ) ) => (( P => Q ) => ( P => R ) ) Implication Introduction 1, 7