• Alen White
    Hi. My name is Alen White. I am a writer and philosopher.

I want to debate the idea that human technology is awesome, wondrous, and sacred. I think that the man made is more wondrous than the stars, and that the most common utilitarian is an artifact of supreme awe and wonder.

What are your thoughts? Let us engage in an open and polite debate, and learn from each other's arguments.
  • AngleWyrm
    Hello Alen, my name is Jonathan Wooldridge, a retired cook and hobbyist game designer.

A snowflake is a marvel of organization out of chaos. I suggest that a bird's nest is the same essential thing, a sorting of order from disarray performed with a biological component. And finally, the artifacts of human endeavor are in a similar way the result of organizational force.

The most amazing artifacts I know of is us, the result of a microscopic recipe book of DNA that generates the enormity of human endeavor from birth to death.
  • T Clark
    I want to debate the idea that human technology is awesome, wondrous, and sacred. I think that the man made is more wondrous than the stars, and that the most common utilitarian is an artifact of supreme awe and wonder.

What are your thoughts? Let us engage in an open and polite debate, and learn from each other's arguments.
    Alen White

My attitude toward the non-human universe is not one of wonder or sacredness, it is one of family, home. The universe and I grew up together over 15 billion years. I'm not saying humanity is the goal of creation, but we belong here together.

Human technology is different. It's something we do rather than something we are. The universe is inside me. Technology is something I use. It's on the outside.

Glad to have you on the forum. Don't listen to anything Agustino or Hanover tell you.
  • gurugeorge
    I think it's all pretty wonderful, I wouldn't place man's products above or below the products of nature, because man's products are a product of nature too.
  • Alen White