• tania2203
    I am a beginner philosopher and I have to explain Hume's "Doubts concerning the operations of the understanding" as part of a short exercise for my class. Would anyone be willing to give their honest opinion on my explanation and try to correct the parts that are wrong or to point out what I might have misunderstood? I have to explain it as clearly as possible, in such a way that a person who has never heard of this passage or even a person who is unfamiliar with philosophy would get a clear sense of what Hume's tried to argue for. Do not hesitate to also criticize my sentence structures or the vocabulary I use (in short, you might find English mistakes or weirdnesses and it would help me to know what they are to improve my explanation). Anyways, here is my work so far:

In this passage, David Hume starts by stating that the objects of human reason are divided into two kinds: Relation of ideas and Matters of fact. The first kind, relation of ideas, is constituted of everything that can be demonstrated or intuitively proven by the human mind, such as mathematics. The mind in itself is sufficient to unravel the truth about these objects. For instance, there is no doubt about the exact result of a calculation following natural operations, like 2+2=4, as there is no way to prove otherwise(very unsure about this example). Another example would be to say that 2x2=5. This proposition is necessarily false as it is impossible to conceive that it can be true and its falsehood can be demonstrated since the relationship between numbers is immutable and can be grasped by reason alone- it does not involved sensations. The logic chain that mathematicians form from a property to a conclusion does not leave any space for doubt.