• Mr Phil O'Sophy
    In other words, males not only act like males but are treated as such by others of it's kind.Harry Hindu

Then the animal kingdom suffers from patriarchal oppression as well! and they also need a feminist movement! ...
  • Ciceronianus the White
    As near as I can tell, which is to say by consultation with a dictionary, "gender" has to do with the state of being male or female, or the perception of being male or female, or perhaps the state or perception of being something else, but according to cultural and social differences and characteristics rather than biological.

I don't find this definition particularly enlightening. But whatever else "gender" may be, I think it's in any case something that certain lawyers (I'm a lawyer), academics, psychologists, sociologists, pundits and politicians will find a way to exploit for their own benefit as best they can.
  • Mr Phil O'Sophy

I wonder, although there are differences in how gender is expressed from culture to culture, is it ever the case that one culture can't tell the sex of differing cultures because of their different gender representations?
  • Mr Phil O'Sophy
    I don't find this definition particularly enlightening. But whatever else "gender" may be, I think it's in any case something that certain lawyers (I'm a lawyer), academics, psychologists, sociologists, pundits and politicians will find a way to exploit for their own benefit as best they can.Ciceronianus the White

interesting, how do you think it can be exploited?
  • Roke

If you are a biological determinist, or biological essentialist, about sex and gender, for instance, you are likely to judge that someone who doesn't comply with a demand regarding how people of a given sex ought to behave isn't entitled to be considered normal. — Pierre-Normand

I think this is part of what I wanted to get at.