• CousinVinnie
    I'm brand new here, please be patient with me. First a little about me to supply context. I'm a 55 year old scientist without a PhD. I wanted to get as far as an MS and then work for government or industry. Academia did not interest me. My plan worked and i"m very good at what I do. I have read many books on philosophy, ranging from our founding fathers in the field up to Kant and Wittgenstein. Philosophical subjects related to teaching and learning have helped me immensley be a better lab chief and mentor. That having been said, i realize I have barely scratched the surface of this complex subject. Here is my delimina, if one does an act that brings pleasure to another individual or group of individuals and that very act also brings immense pleasure to the individual performing the act, is the act selfless or selfish? For example I love to cook for my family. We have different days off. Frequently when I'm home I will prepare a special meal for my family. Generally they enjoy the meal and we have a lovely evening together. Is my act selfless because I prepared a meal for people I love with the hope that it will ibring them genuine pleasure and mprove their day (perhaps even turn it around if they've had a rough day). Ot is my act selfish because ultimately I experience a great deal of satisfaction and pleasure from the entire experience? This may seem trivial but I'm determined to understand my motivation. One last point, I enjoy being of service to others. I frequently refill coffee cups at breakfast, take care of gassing up my families cars, etc. I'm not claiming to be a saint - many issues are quite clear. I am conflicted over this issue and would be happy to hear any opinions you may wish to share. Thank you for taking the time to read my post. Respectfully, Thomas
  • SonJnana
    Interesting post. I think that you are acting in self-interest. It is your interest to make your family happy/to get satisfaction from making your family happy.