• Juan Dubra
    Hello everybody. I am an academic economist, and I have a question.
    There is a "common" type of error I see in some of my colleagues, and I would like to see what epistemologists have said about it.
    Here are two examples.
    From the 60s to the 80s, wages rose and at the same time males worked less while females worked more.
    When wages rise, there are two competing forces in the determination of hours worked: on the one hand working becomes more attractive (or leisure more expensive; this is the substitution effect); on the other hand, if you worked the same number of hours, you would be richer and would like to consume more leisure (that is the income effect).
    If somebody asks "why did males work less and females more in response to rising wages?", an incomplete answer would be "because for males the income effect dominates, while for females the substitution effect dominates." That is almost tautological.
    A "real" explanation (there are some out there) would explain why that is the case. One explanation, for example, works with fertility decisions and says that since women spent a lot of time with kids, having kids became more expensive, and that reduced the number of kids families had.
    The "informal fallacy" in this case would be "I have explained why males work less and females more in response to rising wages, by arguing that males have a stronger income effect, while females a stronger substitution effect".